### Consent Agenda Briefing for PWSRCAC Board of Directors - May 2025

#### **ACTION ITEM**

**Sponsor:** Joe Lally, Director of Programs

**Project number and name or topic:** Committee Member Appointments

1. **Description of agenda item**: This agenda item is to request that the Board support the volunteer membership of the committees by the appointment of renewals to a two-year term to the committees listed below. This agenda item is included on the consent agenda this year as there are no new appointees, just renewals.

#### **Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)**

Wei Cheng Renewal
John Kennish Renewal
Dorothy Moore Renewal
Roger Green Renewal
Wayne Donaldson Renewal
Scott Pegau Renewal

Note: The committee consists of eight members including renewals.

Directors on SAC: Dorothy Moore, Wayne Donaldson

## **Terminal Operations and Environmental Monitoring Committee (TOEM)**

Harold Blehm Renewal
Mikkel Foltmar Renewal
Steve Goudreau Renewal
Tom Kuckertz Renewal

Note: The committee consists of six members including renewals.

Directors on TOEM: Amanda Bauer

#### Oil Spill Prevention and Response Committee (OSPR)

Gordon Scott Renewal Matt Melton Renewal

Note: The committee consists of eight members including renewals and new members.

Directors on OSPR: Robert Beedle, Mike Bender, Jim Herbert, Mike Brittain

#### **Port Operations and Vessel Traffic Systems (POVTS)**

Gordon Terpening Renewal Max Mitchell Renewal

Note: The committee consists of four members including renewals.

Directors on POVTS: Amanda Bauer, Robert Archibald

#### **Information and Education Committee (IEC)**

Trent Dodson Renewal
Jane Eisemann Renewal
Cathy Hart Renewal
Andrea Korbe Renewal

# Annual Technical Committee Member Appointments 3-5

Amanda Glazier Renewal

Note: The committee consists of eight members including renewals.

Directors on IEC: Aimee Williams

- 2. **Why is this item important to PWSRCAC:** Maintaining a strong committee membership has been a high priority for PWSRCAC. The committees are an integral component of PWSRCAC's work and require strong volunteer membership.
- 3. **Summary of policy, issues, support or opposition:** Selection criteria for committee members per Board policy 507 includes: 1) experience or background in a technical field; 2) having a stake in safe oil transportation and/or terminal operations; 3) residents of the EVOS region given preference; 4) objectivity; and 5) special skills or expertise. Additionally, at least one Board member shall serve on each PWSRCAC standing committee.
- 4. **Committee Recommendation:** The Committees all endorse these renewals.
- 5. **Relationship to LRP and Budget:** Committee expenses tend to increase with the size of the committee but have always been an important part of the PWSRCAC budget. In the past, the Board supported limiting committee membership to eight volunteers plus Board members.
- 6. **Action Requested of the Board of Directors:** Appoint committee members to two-year terms on their respective committees.
- 7. **Alternatives:** None proposed.
- 8. **Attachments:** The meeting attendance for the last three years for all committee members is in section 2-4 of the meeting packet. Applications for new members (if applicable) are provided to Board members only <u>upon request</u>. At the time this briefing sheet was prepared there were no new members seeking appointment.